The controversial move in Racing vs. Barracas Central: Lamolina's explanation to Arias to justify his decision

The first matchday hasn't even ended, and the Argentine Clausura Tournament already has a refereeing controversy that will go down as one of the biggest of the tournament. It happened in the match between Racing and Barracas Central in Avellaneda, with a crazy extra time.
The match was tied at the Cilindro, and Racing finally managed to break the deadlock thanks to their top scorer, Adrián "Maravilla" Martínez. The number 9 headed the ball home to send Racing fans into a frenzy. However, referee Nicolás Lamolina, who had been flagged off for controversial decisions on more than one occasion, refused to allow play to resume. VAR was telling him something. And there were moments of uncertainty and some confusion.
The situation later became clearer. What was reviewed wasn't Martínez's position, which appeared to be offside when he went to collect the ball to head it, but rather a previous play in which the Racing forward, who had initiated the goal-scoring move in his own box, committed a clear penalty on Facundo Bruera.
Lamolina, in this case correctly, disallowed the goal and awarded a penalty to the visiting team. This provoked Gustavo Costas's madness, who aggressively protested the referee and was duly sent off, likely awaiting disciplinary action. Once the situation calmed down, Rodrigo Insua took charge of the penalty and converted the 1-0. There was no time for more.
😨🇦🇷 LAMOLINA DISMISSED RACING'S GOAL FOR THIS PENALTY IN FAVOR OF BARRACAS CENTRAL.
— Soccer Attack (@AtaqueFutbolero) July 13, 2025
The lines that mark the position of Maravilla Martínez.
Gabriel Arias, the Academy's goalkeeper, was calmer than his coach and allowed himself to talk to Lamolina, who explained the decision. "I understand it comes after a goal, but there's no disallowed goal; Martínez is offside. Don't worry, there's no disallowed goal. That's one thing. Second, the penalty is a penalty," said the referee.
Pay attention to Lamolina's explanation to Arías after the disallowed goal and the penalty for Barracas!! pic.twitter.com/v8OSgXcyPC
— SportsCenter (@SC_ESPN) July 13, 2025
Arias, although not satisfied, accepted the argument and sought to end the controversy. In his post-match statement, the Chilean focused on Racing's poor performance rather than the final controversy.
Later, upon leaving the field and under police escort, Lamolina stated: "The penalty is clear. It was a reckless action. It's considered a dispute in another game context. Martínez tries to touch the ball, but the opponent anticipates it."
Clarin